Hampshire Doulas

Birth and Postnatal Doulas offering birth and baby support and information in Hampshire UK

Three babies two doulas, induced labours

Leave a comment

For World Doula Week we’re running a series of interviews with families who have had the support of a doula or in this case two doulas. Emma laboured in hospital calmly and peacefully with her doulas’ support.

How did you hear about doulas?

I heard about Doulas during my second pregnancy. They were recommended to me when I sought advice on anxiety during birth as I had ptsd from giving birth to my first child. (Editor’s note: traumatic birth can often have a huge effect on mothers -and also on fathers -if you are struggling with processing your birth memories of a birth or if they are causing you to struggle with your mental health you are not alone. You can call a doula at any time and many will be able to help you talk through and debrief your experiences. You may also need to talk to your GP who will be able to help you access to mental health support if needed. You may also find it’s helpful to contact the birth trauma association who can provide both trained and peer support options.)

Why did you want a doula?

I wanted a doula to play the role I always imagined a supportive mother would play with more experience, confidence and wisdom. I also wanted a doula to help me overcome fear. My first doula taught me how to view birth as a natural experience instead of a life and death hospital procedure.

How did your partner feel about the idea when you first bought it up?

My partner was very keen to have a doula again in my third pregnancy as he totally understood the benefit of feeling supported in labour and for him – it was his first birth. He too believed that birth was an empowering natural phenomenon. He also understood my anxiety and the need for someone experienced to make sure our wishes were respected.

How did your doula help you prepare for your birth?

My doula was on the end of the phone for a month before the birth as my baby was late. I was very anxious as I did not want to give birth in hospital due to my ptsd. My doula was calming, supportive and informative. I had many false labours too which she supported me well though.

What did your doula do on the day when you went into labour?iolbaby

She attended the hospital with us before the induction having counselled me the night before. She stayed with us the whole time. In the labour, she supported my partner as I actually just went into myself and laboured with my eyes closed and headphones on. I am sure she was very valuable at this time but I was elsewhere! I felt very safe with just her and my partner and laboured up until my first push in blissful peace. She held one hand, my partner held the other and with just a few pushes my baby was here.

What did she do after the baby was born?

My doula nurtured me and my partner from this point. She followed my every wish and when I was ready she took me to clean up. She took care of my every need whilst daddy snuggled up with baby.

What was the best thing about having a doula?

Feeling safe and confident. Empowered.  Without her I couldn’t have retreated into myself.

Would you recommend having a doula to other families?

Definitely. With Doulas my births have been amazing experiences. The second birth was pleasurable despite being induced. The third was harder due to baby refusing to be induced but still a pleasure. I had no fear.

 

Author: Sarah Dauncey

I'm a DoulaUK recognised Birth Doula. I support new and expectant mums and their families in Hampshire and West Sussex UK.

Leave a Reply

